Lakeland Senior Games


 Myrtle Dussault emceed an entertaining and well-organized Awards Banquet at the Seniors' Centre in Elk Point at 1:00 PM on October 25 with the help of Joe Ibach, Zone 7 President.


10 YEAR: Cal Gerber, Helen Runke, Louise DeChamplain, Gloria Yettaw, Jessie Nowastad

15 YEAR: Millicent Ampton, Violet Bouvier, Celestine Bouvier, Marie Westmancoat, Olga Haydak

 20 YEAR: L to R Marie Routhier, Myrtle Dussault, Joe Ibach, Mary Yakoweshen, John Yakoweshen, Mary Olinuk, Peter McArthur, (absent) Frank Graybill, Roger Gamach

Vernon Hafso, Past President of the provincial organization, and Lea Dashkewytch, current President, spoke to the group about the changes that are coming to Alberta55Plus winter and summer games.  Active sports will now fall under Alberta Sports Connection while arts and crafts, card games and creative writing will continue under Alberta55Plus.  Both presenters acknowledged that change was coming but emphasized "the members are not going to lose anything".

Kay Hauer reminded members of the Arts and Culture Festival that will take place in Lloydminster April 30.  This will include arts and craft demonstrations as well as performances by choirs and musicians.  More information will be available as plans progress.

The annual general meeting will take place on April 29 in conjunction with the festival.

There was a wonderful display of crafts at the hall.

 Lorane McGregor with her gold medal quilt

25 YEAR:

 L to R Joe Ibach, Margaret Modin, Pearl Toma, John Toma


 Joe Ibach presents a lifetime (30) year membership pin to Germain Routhier.

 President Joe Ibach recognized Zenovia Keryluk who received a provincial merit award and he thanked her for her service as area 6 director.

 Mary Ann Latty with her gold medal stitched farm scene

 Rollie Poitras provided a very entertaining half hour of humour and song.

 First row L to R: Lea Dashkewytch (guest-President provincial association),David Hanson (guest-MLA), Joe Ibach, Willie McGregor, Marjorie Osinchuk, Linda Danilak

Second row L to R: Pearl Toma, Pat Covington, unknown guest, Louise DeChamplain, Mary Ann Latty, Vic Ouellette, Lorraine Donovan, Bob Cormack, Vern Hafso (guest-Past President provincial association)

Third row L to R: John Toma, Kay Hauer, Sophie Harasimiuk, Lucille Smith, Marie Routhier, Nancy Donnelly, Myrtle Dussault


Make a free website with Yola